Malling Area Golf Society

Summer Matchplay

This is a singles competition using the matchplay format. Players rounded handicaps are used to calculate the net strokes for each hole. Winning a hole gives one point, tying or losing none.
If it’s all-square after 18 holes one of the following can be used to determine the winner upon agreed by both players; extra hole(s) played, re-match or a coin toss. This competition takes place from April till September.


  1. Entrance is restricted to fully paid up MAGS members.
  2. The first name on the draw is the Home match and chooses the venue, it is the responsibility of both players to arrange the match
  3. Winners are to notify the Matchplay organiser of the result.
  4. Matches are to be played by the date specified, or may result in the elimination of both players.
  5. Any difficulty in arranging the match, please advise the organiser, who will endeavour to assist.
  6. Any dispute will be referred to the Captain, whose decision is final.
  7. Standard Rules of Matchplay apply.
  8. Handicaps will be your MAGS handicap, irrespective of whether the club you are playing at is your home club and you have a registered handicap with them.
  9. The competition is standard matchplay ie: Player A Handicap 18 v Player B Handicap 9 which results in player B giving 9 shots to player A over stroke index 1-9.
  10. Home draw will be made by the captain & away draw by the chairman (if either of these are unavailable draw will be carried out by a committee member).
  11. If the match ends in a tie after 18 holes you may play extra holes (in this case there is no need to give a player anymore strokes), replay the game (the away player now has home advantage) or toss of a coin.

Competition Secretary - Paul Damper - August 2013

2020/21 Fixtures & Results

Round One

All second round matches must be completed by May 21st 2021.

Darren Parker (20)v Sean Downs (17)Darren7 & 5
Ian Brenchley (25)v Peter Steer (27)Peter7 & 6
Mark Parsons (28)v Ian Rowan (21)Ian4 & 3
Scott Cleaver (23)v Adrian Harvanko (16)Scott4 & 3
Dave Ealham (22)v Derek Reed (15)Derek3 & 2
Dave Verga (19)v Ian Marshallsay (23)Ian2 & 1
John Burbridge (23)v ByeJohnN/A
Paul Damper (15)v ByePaulN/A


Quarter-final matches must be completed by ...

Darren Parker (19)v Peter Steer (27)Peter3 & 2
Paul Damper (15)v Scott Cleaver (22)Paul6 & 5
Derek Reed (15)v John Burbridge (23)John2 & 1
Ian Marshallsay (22)v Ian Rowan (22)Ian M8 & 6


Semi-final matches must be completed by 30th July 2021.

Paul Damper (15)v Peter Steer (27)Peter1 up
John Burbridge (23)v Ian Marshallsay (23)Ian1 up


The Final should be played at a neutral venue and be completed by Friday 17th September.

Ian Marshallsay (23)v Peter Steer (26)Peter3 & 2
© MAGS 2021
Website Designed and Maintained by Peter Tweddell, BWF Ltd.